high school sportsFootball

Anthony Hill, Peyton Bowen among those named to MaxPreps’ preseason All-America team

Nine players from the state of Texas were named to the honor roll — three more than any other state.

The state of Texas dominated MaxPreps Preseason All-America Football Team with nine honorees — three more than any other state. Three of those players listed come from the Dallas area.

Denton Ryan five-star linebacker Anthony Hill and Denton Guyer four-star safety Peyton Bowen were both named first-team preseason All-Americans, while Southlake Carroll punter Tyler White was named to the second team.

Hill, the No. 1 player on The Dallas Morning News’ top 100 recruits list for the class of 2023, had 131 tackles (18 for loss) and 8 sacks as a junior for Ryan (12-2) in 2021. The nation’s top linebacker recruit, per 247Sports.com, Hill is a Texas A&M pledge.

Denton Guyer's Peyton Bowen (22) breaks up a pass intended for Prosper's Houston Hawkins (4)...
Denton Guyer's Peyton Bowen (22) breaks up a pass intended for Prosper's Houston Hawkins (4) in the second half of a Class 6A Division II Region I final high school playoff football game between Denton Guyer and Prosper, Saturday, Dec. 4, 2021, in Allen, Texas. (Matt Strasen/Special Contributor) (Matt Strasen / Special Contributor)

Bowen, the No. 4 player on The News’ top 100, was named the all-area utility player of the year last season after he scored seven touchdowns (one on defense, three as a returner and three as a wide receiver) for 6A Div. II state runner-up Denton Guyer (14-2). A Notre Dame pledge at safety, Bowen had six interceptions and 59 tackles as a junior.

The area’s top kicker and punter, White — a Texas A&M pledge for football and baseball — was a first-team all-area honoree last season after he went 10-for-12 on field goal attempts with a long off 55 yards. He averaged 42.3 yards per punt and was a MaxPreps second-team junior All-American. He pitched for Carroll’s baseball team in the spring, and helped the team win its third 6A state championship in the last four seasons.

The other in-state honorees include El Campo five-star running back Rueben Owens, a Louisville pledge (first-team), Austin Westlake four-star wide receiver Jaden Greathouse, a Notre Dame pledge (first-team), Austin Westlake four-star offensive lineman TJ Shanahan (first-team), Katy Paetow five-star defensive lineman David Hicks Jr. (first-team), Shiner four-star running back Dalton Brooks, a Texas A&M pledge (second-team) and Austin Westlake four-star edge rusher Colton Vasek, an Oklahoma pledge (second-team).


Find more high school sports coverage from The Dallas Morning News here.

Sign up for our FREE HS newsletter

News Roundups

Sign up and stay in the know

Catch up on the day’s headlines from the news and information source you trust

By signing up you agree to our privacy policy